The events

RUNS – Crew Time

Off the Pointe du Talud
Wednesday 18th September 2019

The Runs are pure timed speed races. The start will be given between the Island of Groix and the Pointe du Talud. Each boat will start individually, and will be given several trials. The goal : to record the best time on a course of 1.5 miles. It is an opportunity for skippers to push their boats, for the public to see the boats in all their speed potential, and for the onboard sponsors to experience the sensations of offshore racing !

The winners of the last editions of the Défi Azimut :

2018 : Charal (Jérémie Beyou)

2016 : SAFRAN (Morgan Lagravière)

2015 : SMA (Paul Meilhat – Michel Desjoyeaux)

2014 : Maître Coq (Jérémie Beyou)

2013 : Macif (François Gabart / Michel Desjoyeaux)


48H Azimut – Double-handed race

Departure from Lorient La Base
Thursday 19th September to Saturday 21th September 2019

This is the flagship event of the Défi Azimut : 48 hours of sailing, two skippers and a mediaman on board, a loop in the Atlantic Ocean. During this race, the skippers have the opportunity to compete one last time before the start of the Jacques Vabre 2019. Tracking devices will allow you to follow the race live on the map available on the event website. The pictures sent by the onboard mediamen will be shared by the Défi Azimut organisation so that everyone can enjoy them as if they were on board!

Winners of the last editions of the Défi Azimut :

2018 : PRB (Vincent Riou)

2017 : SMA (Paul Meilhat et Gwénolé Gahinet)

2016 : Banque Populaire VIII (Armel Le Cléac’h)

2015 : PRB (Vincent Riou - Sébastien Col)

2014 : Maître Coq (Jérémie Beyou)

2013 : Macif (François Gabart / Michel Desjoyeaux)

2012 : Virbac-Paprec 3 (Jean-Pierre Dick)

2011 : PRB (Vincent Riou et Hugues Destremau)

Chrono Tour de Groix – Crew

Island of Groix – Sunday 22th September  2019

Nearby the beautiful Island of Groix, the crews will compete in order to beat the record held by Vincent Riou (PRB) who completed the time in 1h 08min 10sec in 2015. And because Azimut loves challenges and innovations, the traditional race around the Island of Groix is evolving. It becomes the first navigation laboratory of the IMOCA class in crew according to the rules of the Ocean Race. This is the perfect opportunity to enjoy the feelings of the race.

Record held by Vincent Riou : 1h 08 min 10 sec in 2015.


Last éditions' winners :

2017 : SMA (Paul Meilhat et Gwénolé Gahinet)

2016 : SMA (Paul Meilhat)

2015 : PRB (Vincent Riou - Sébastien Col)

2014 : SAFRAN (Marc Guillemot)

2013 : SAFRAN (Marc Guillemot – Pascal Bidégorry)

2012 : MACIF (François Gabart)